### **OFFICERS 2010-2012**

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County

DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

#### APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

JIM MC CAULEY Placer County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON\* Fremont City Clerk \* non-voting member

# ADVISORY COUNCIL:

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

# **ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:**

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

KARI VERJIL Southern Area Riverside County JILL AVINE

Mother Lode Area
Sacramento County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS

Bay Area Solano County

# LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

### **COUNTY CLERK:**

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

### **ELECTIONS**:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



# CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

# **GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT**

Santa Cruz County Clerk
701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060
831-454-2419 \* Fax 831-454-2445 \* Cell 408-316-9745
E-Mail: <a href="mailto:gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us">gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us</a>
Website: <a href="mailto:www.caceo58.org">www.caceo58.org</a>

April 11, 2012

Senator Christine Kehoe, Author State Capitol Room 5050 Sacramento, CA 95814-4900

RE: SB 1272 Political Party Organization: Central Committees - SUPPORT

Dear Senator Kehoe:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to convey **Support** for **SB 1272** (introduced February 23, 2012). This legislation extends the term of office for members of a political party county central committee from two years to four years, consolidating these elections with the presidential primary.

Consolidating central committee elections with the presidential primary election will provide two immediate benefits. First, it would reduce the frequency of these elections from being conducted every two years to four years, saving local taxpayer dollars relating to political party elections. Second, it would reduce voter confusion by diminishing the complexity and length of the statewide direct primary ballot by removing the only remaining party-nominated offices being voted upon at the gubernatorial primary election.

The Top Two Open Primary Act (Proposition 14) has created a more complex primary for voters to understand with relation to whom they are eligible to vote, as well as being more difficult and costly for election officials to administer. Further compounding the regulating framework governing the statewide direct primary, political parties can encourage voters with no party preference to vote their party's ticket for state and federal offices while excluding the same voters from electing members of their party's central committee offices. While the Top Two Open Primary has the effect of consolidating the ballot for state and federal offices into a single ballot at the gubernatorial year, the exclusion of party committee offices from this integration results in the need to produce more ballot types, which has been historically common. These additional ballot types further increase the cost of administering the primary election.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

Linda Tulett

Correspondence Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Honorable Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Honorable Lou Correa, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections & Const. Amendments Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates